Visit to Treowen
Treowen was probably built in 1627 by William Jones after he inherited a fortune from his uncle, a London merchant. The money helped pay for what is a very large house by local standards. Not long afterwards the family decided that the rather austere look of their new mansion was not grand enough, so they added the beautiful storied porch on the south front with the Jones shield of arms and a gable embellished with strapwork.
In the 1670's the family moved to Llanarth Court, near Abergavenny, which had by tradition been the residence of the eldest son. Treowen was let as a farmhouse until it was sold to the sitting tenant in 1945. The only other major change to Treowen throughout its history came in the 18th century when it lost the top storey of the front half of the building, going it a rather lopsided look from certain angles….
A step back into the 17th century in one of the finest unspoilt mansions in South wales, four miles from the historic market town of Monmouth. It has been a family home from the very start and in the 17th century, a catholic and royalist one - the priest's hole on the first landing bears evidence to the dangers of its recusant past